现代舞在中国蓬勃 发展自己的语言

Modern Dance Comes Into Its Own in China
三月 1, 2012
Artistic Director of Beijing Modern Dance Company to do residency at Brown
三月 21, 2012
Show all

现代舞在中国蓬勃 发展自己的语言

看报告原文请点击这里

北京当代芭蕾舞团轻盈的新生代舞者和山西农村质朴的乡间音乐家,穿着陈旧的靛蓝色长袍,拿着用木棍支起的手工面具—他们高喊着,吹着哨子,跳跃着,就如同是半透明屏幕背后嬉闹的影偶。

这一幕发生在今冬北京奥林匹克羽毛球中心的地下室,叮当作响的铃声,猛烈的铙声和重重的鼓声填满了这个巨穴般的有着高高天顶的空间。

第二天,在位于城市另一个角落的中国水兵俱乐部的二楼,一些当代芭蕾舞团的舞者正在一间通风良好的训练室里和他们的总监高艳津子一起准备一场新年演出。他们毫不在乎冰冷的空气,随着新世纪音乐的录音,做着热身运动—健美操,没个完的仰卧起坐和欢快的舞蹈动作;在他们头顶的墙上装饰着这样的标语,“坚持艺德,遵重观众。”

同一天,在郊区艺术家村的一间宽敞的旧仓库里,陶冶和陶身体剧场中的三位女舞者正在进行无乐彩排,舞者们在地板上翻滚,伸出他们左脚,然后整齐划一地用单膝支撑爬了起来。他们的身体如同弹簧一样旋转着,不休止地重复着同样的动作,直到陶冶认为他们做对了为止—他去年在三大洲的五个国家进行了演出。

这些零星的画面显示现代舞在中国终于进入了蓬勃发展的时期。和其他剧场艺术比起来,现代舞过去多年都在表演机会,资金,媒体覆盖率和观众方面落在下风。

“观众在增加,” 乒乓策划的方美昂这么说,她是陶身体剧场的国际拓展策划人,“你能看到更多的舞者留在中国。大家不急着往国外冲,你甚至会看到有人回来,在这里发现和创造机遇。”

在中国的背景下最非同一般的则是这些公司中有很多都是私人经营未经注册的公司,他们自负盈亏,享有很高的独立性。在政府至少名义上控制了大多数表演艺术组织并且企业艺术赞助少之又少的环境中,他们存活了下来。

现代舞在中国存在历史相对较短。回溯到1895年,大清帝国法国公使的女儿裕容龄在巴黎师从伊莎多拉·邓肯。当裕容龄回到中国的时候,慈禧太后任命她为御前女官,负责为宫廷引入新的舞者。不过20世纪中的大部分时间,政治环境并不利于现代舞。反之,中国为支持民族舞、传统歌剧和苏联带入的芭蕾舞则建造了一座基础设施。

美国舞蹈节1986年在广州开展了一个现代舞训练项目,1992年中国第一个现代舞团—广东现代舞团—成立了。据高艳津子说之后有很多人迅速跟上,2000年到2006年代表着快速的发展和增长的自信。

“之后,大概从2005年开始,我们为自己说话,”她解释道。“现在中国现代舞有它自己的语言了。这就是为什么那么多的国际艺术节会邀请我们。”

事实正是如此,近几年来,来自中国的舞蹈团已经成为了国际艺术节上的常客。北京当代芭蕾舞团今年晚些时候会在西班牙、法国、丹麦和德国表演;高艳津子两月份将担任布朗大学的客座艺术家;而陶身体剧场则将在纽约的林肯艺术中心、波兰的格但斯克艺术节和台湾的新舞蹈节上登台演出。

以上海为根据地的金星现代舞蹈团二月底在美国完成了持续两个月、包括多个城市的美国巡演;而另一个北京的公司—雷动天下现代舞团则在2010年做了全球巡演;广东现代舞团还培养出了像沈伟这样享誉世界的出色编舞。

这些舞团的艺术语言常常受到中国传统文化的影响。例如王媛媛就经常在中国文学中寻找灵感,“山海经”的创作基于诺贝尔文学奖得主高行健的作品—一部对中国古老的神话传说的再创作。而高艳津子则将禅作为其编舞的一个来源。金星现代舞蹈团和北京现代芭蕾舞团都曾对明代戏曲“牡丹亭”进行过演绎。事实上大部分现代舞都仍旧是具象派的,因为中国观众希望看到故事,当表演“山海经”的时候,北京当代芭蕾舞团的表演者甚至要背下篇幅不短的台词。

“他们是奔着一种古老的中国美学去的,” 方美昂说。“编舞和艺术总监们在重筑一段被打断的过去。”

陶冶是这种趋势中的一个例外,他说自己尽量避免任何来自过去的影响。

“在这儿,历史被修订了,而不是真正被保存下来,”他说。“我认为身体能给你一切东西。它具有一切可能性。我只需要把它引出来。”

但即使中国现代舞团已经在海外发出了自己独特的声音并且受到了欢迎,他们在自己家却挣扎于如何吸引新的观众。虽然情况在改善,但海外巡演和参加国际艺术节仍旧是舞团们生存的支柱,他们用从中获得的收入来支持在国内的演出。

“每次我们在这里演出都亏钱,因为中国观众不买票,”高艳津子说。“我们已经在这儿十六年了,总是得靠国外的表演才生存得下去。”

方美昂指出了现代舞团面临的一些主要问题:当地舞团的匮乏;过高的表演场租;企业艺术赞助太少;未注册的舞蹈公司无法申请任何政府支持;舞蹈教育过于注重技巧和机械性学习;电视转播的大型舞秀影响了很多编舞;缺乏舞蹈明星(金星是一个例外);没有对编剧和工作室的资助。

尽管如此,中国现代舞团仍投身于让他们的艺术在自己家生根发芽。北京当代芭蕾舞团系统地致力于吸引年轻观众,他们采用的方法有在大学校园进行演出,创作反映他们生活的舞蹈以及和来自嘻哈这样流行文化的艺术家合作。

大部分当代舞蹈艺术家也对政府目前在文化发展上的重视表现出一种谨慎但乐观的态度—这将对他们有益,即使他们可能是次要的。

“时机正好,”高艳津子说。“只为了生存而表演给西方人看是不对的。2012年我想在中国做更多。当每个人都关注在文化上的时候,我们应该表演。大部分中国观众从来没有看过现代舞。我们有责任让他们看到。”

现代舞在中国蓬勃 发展自己的语言

Modern Dance Comes Into Its Own in China
March 1, 2012
Artistic Director of Beijing Modern Dance Company to do residency at Brown
March 21, 2012
Show all

现代舞在中国蓬勃 发展自己的语言

Check out the full New York Times Article at this Link. 

Beijing Contemporary Ballet dancers and the new generation of lightweight Shanxi rural rustic country musician, wearing old indigo robes, holding a hand with a wooden support from the mask – they shouted, blowing whistles, jumping, just as It is behind a translucent screen frolic shadow even.

This scene took place in the basement this winter Beijing Olympic Badminton Center, jingling ringtones, violent sound of cymbals and heavy drums filled the cavernous space has a high zenith.

The next day, on the second floor Chinese sailors club located in another corner of the city, some of the contemporary ballet dancers are a well-ventilated room and training high Yanjinzi their director together to prepare a New Year show. They do not care the cold air, with new age music recordings, doing warm-up exercises – aerobics, no less, sit-ups and cheerful dance moves; their heads decorated the wall of this slogan, “insists German art, respect for the audience. ”

On the same day, in a spacious old warehouse in the outskirts of the village of artists, and cultivate Tao Dance Theater of three female dancers being no music rehearsal, the dancers on the floor rolling, extending their left foot, and then tidy neatly with knee support to climb up. Their bodies as spring-like spin, do not pause to repeat the same action until edify think they did the right thing so far – his last year in five countries on three continents have been performed.

These sporadic screen display of modern dance in China has finally entered a period of vigorous development. And compared to other theater arts, modern dance over the years fall under the wind in performance opportunities, funding, media coverage and audience terms.

“The audience is increasing,” ping-pong party planned US Aung say, she is the Tao Dance Theater’s international expansion planners, “You can see more of the dancers remain in China. We in no hurry to rush overseas, you do not even You see people come back, found here and create opportunities. ”

In the Chinese context is the most unusual of these companies many of which are privately run unregistered companies, they are self-financing, it enjoyed a high independence. At least nominally government control most performing arts organizations and arts patron few business environment, they survived.

Chinese modern dance in the presence of a relatively short history. Dating back to 1895, the Qing Empire, the French minister’s daughter Yu Rong age under the tutelage of Isadora Duncan in Paris. When Yu Rong Ling back to China, the Empress Dowager Cixi appointed her female imperial officer, responsible for the court to introduce new dancers. But for most of the 20th century, the political environment is not conducive to modern dance. On the contrary, China to support dance, traditional opera and ballet are brought into the Soviet Union built a infrastructure.

American Dance Festival in 1986 in Guangzhou launched a modern dance training program in 1992, China’s first modern dance company – Guangdong Modern Dance Company – was founded. It is said that after high Yanjinzi quickly to keep a lot of people, from 2000 to 2006 represents the rapid development and growth of self-confidence.

“After that, probably starting in 2005, we have to speak for themselves,” she explains. “Now the Chinese modern dance has its own language of which is why so many international arts festival will invite us.”

The fact is the case in recent years, dance troupe from China has become a regular on the international art festival. Beijing Contemporary Ballet later this year in Spain, France, Denmark and Germany performances; high Yanjinzi two months, will serve as guest artist at Brown University; and Tao Dance Theater will be at Lincoln Center in New York, Poland Gdansk Arts Festival dance Festival and the new Taiwan stage.

Shanghai as the base of the end of February Venus Modern Dance in America for two months to complete, including the cities of the United States tour; and another company of Beijing – LDTX then in 2010 made a world tour; Guangdong modern dance Company also trained as a world-renowned Shen Wei this outstanding choreographer.

The troupe’s artistic language is often influenced by traditional Chinese culture. For example Wang Yuanyuan often find inspiration in Chinese literature, “Shan Hai Jing,” the creation based on Nobel Prize winner Gao Xingjian’s works – one pair of ancient Chinese myths and legends of the re-creation. The high Yanjinzi Zen will be as a source of choreography. Venus and the Beijing Modern Dance Modern Ballet have Ming Opera “Peony Pavilion” been interpreted. In fact, most modern dance is still representational, because Chinese audiences want to see the story, when performing “Shan Hai Jing”, when Beijing Contemporary Ballet performers even memorize the length or short lines.

“They ran an ancient Chinese aesthetics go,” Fang Mei Ang said. “Choreographer and artistic director who was interrupted in rebuilding period in the past.”

Mold is an exception to this trend, he said he avoided any influence from the past.

“Here, history was revised, but not really to be preserved,” he said. “I think the body will give you everything. It has all the possibilities. I just need to lead it out.”

But even Chinese Modern Dance Company has issued its own unique sound and has been welcomed abroad, in their own home but struggled on how to attract new audiences. Although the situation is improving, but overseas tour and participate in the international dance festival is still the mainstay of their existence, they use the income derived from them to support the country’s performance.

“Every time we played here are losing money because Chinese audiences do not buy a ticket,” said Gao Yan Jin son. “We’ve been here for sixteen years, and always rely on foreign performers to survive afloat.”

Fang Mei Ang pointed out some of the main problems faced by modern dance company: the lack of local dance; high performance rental; too little business arts sponsorship; unregistered dance companies can not apply for any government support; dance too much emphasis on skills and education machine learning; major televised dance show influenced many choreographers; lack dancing star (Venus is an exception); there is no funding for writers and studios.

Nevertheless, China still engaged in modern dance company to make their art in their homes to take root. Beijing Contemporary Ballet systematic efforts to attract a younger audience, the methods they have used in the university campus performances, reflecting the creation of their lives as well as dance and hip-hop artists from popular culture such cooperation.

Most contemporary dance artists in the government the current emphasis on cultural development showed a cautious but optimistic – it would be beneficial to them, even though they may be secondary.

“The timing is just right,” said Gao Yan Jin son. “Only show in order to survive to see the West is wrong. I think in 2012 in China to do more. When everyone is concerned about the culture, we should perform. Most Chinese viewers have never seen modern dance. we have a responsibility to let them see. “